a creative melting pot?

I think I may have said this before, but I think Etsy is just so awesome! I love that there are so many different creative voices represented all in one place, and that it makes it so easy to access the art and hand crafts of people from all over the world.

And obviously, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that I also love it because it gives me a venue to offer my own craftiness to the world in exchange! I recently changed my offering in my Etsy shop to reflect the custom nature of the mixer covers that I’ve been making, and I’ve had some really amazing orders so far! I absolutely love it! Seeing my pattern come to life in someone’s dream fabric is so much fun. It’s pure creative collaboration.

This first order was from someone who had never ordered anything from Etsy before, and I’m so honored to have been her first purchase! She requested the Amy Butler Lotus collection print “Wall Flower” in sky and left the rest up to me. I selected Amy Butler’s “Oxford Stripe” in lime, also from the Lotus collection, for the ruffle and pocket trim. I think it works perfectly together, and I hope she loves it!

I think this next one is particularly great, because I never would have thought to use a fabric like this for a kitchen accessory. Stacey Winters is a talented photographer with a vintagey, whimsical, nature-loving thing going on in her work. I love these, and we totally had those creepy feisty little elves on our Christmas tree when I was a kid!

Anyway, Stacey requested that I use Kokka’s Little Red Riding Hood fabric for the cover for her drool-worthy vintage-blue Martha Stewart mixer. I selected a Moda dot print from the Wee Play collection by American Jane for the trim. This ended up being a favorite of mine! I just love the fabric.


Finally, Desiree saw pictures of my covers on Flickr (check out her tropical studio if you don’t mind feeling a bit of jealousy) and wrote to me to ask if I would be willing to make her a similar style cover for her sewing machine. Of course! Just the kind of fun new project I’m happy to tackle!

Desiree requested Alexander Henry’s “Sew Now! Sew Wow!” for her cover, and it’s a natural choice! I love those old-fashioned machines and the classic sewing notions that adorn this print. I used a lipstick red micro polka dot calico for the ruffle and pocket trim, and since the pocket is so wide, I added a bit of velcro to the center to keep it from gaping open. I added the black fabric-covered button just for decoration. It was in my stash, likely inherited from the collection that my mom gave me.

All of this custom creating is so inspiring! I love the combinations and the way that everyone’s unique personality comes through in their fabric choice. And when I find time, I still have some of my own creations in the works, including a cover made from this perfectly appropriate Robert Kaufman print:


Stay tuned for more creativity!

2 thoughts on “a creative melting pot?”

Leave a Reply

