kids clothes week challenge

Tomorrow kicks off the Spring 2012 edition of the “kids clothes week challenge” (kcwc as the cool kids say), hosted by Meg at elsie marley! I was almost late to the party, but I decided to take the plunge and join in. The idea behind Meg’s challenge is that if you can commit to just one hour of sewing (or cutting/planning/knitting/whatever) for your kids each day for a week, you’re bound to end up with something great to show for it by Sunday. One hour a day sounds achievable, so I’m in!

Here’s what I would like to tackle this week:

      • A little summer romper for Juniper, using Simplicity 1813, an adorable vintage reissue from the latest collection. I’m thinking view A (minus the cupcake), or D/E (love that ruffle-bum!).
        Realistically, that’s probably all I’ll be able to accomplish, although the wish list is of course MUCH longer. The latest issue of Ottobre magazine (3/2012) arrived yesterday, and there are some cute things in there too. I really like these board shorts for Lincoln:

        And this sweet little pleated dress for Juniper:

        I could go on and on. The things I want to sew far outweigh the available hours! So back to the actual plan- when I asked Lincoln to pick out a fabric for his sun hat he selected a lovely pale pink floral print. Now, I’m all about encouraging him to make his own decisions and breaking down those preconceived gender rules, but really? I think I may have to exercise my Mama Veto on that one. Don’t I? What would you do?

        2 thoughts on “kids clothes week challenge”

        Leave a Reply

        